first coral?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ctlongreef33

Aquarium Advice Newbie
looking for suggestions as to what coral would be the best to try as my first one in this tank, something cheap, something hardy, have good lighting and good flow, what do ya all think'?
also is anyone in the CT Mass area and if so are there any decent stores to get LR or corals from?
thanks

ctlongreef.

I'm pretty new at this too, but when your tank is ready for them, check out liveaquaria.com. they use a chart to descibe the difficulty, water tolerance, and aquarium requirements. not to mention they are pretty cheap and they have a good warrenty.

hth
mark

shrooms are always good to start out with. they are for the most part hardy and will do well in newer tanks. softies and lps would also be ok. id stay away from sps untill you get more experienced and have all the prpoer lighting etc. my first corals were mushrooms, a torch, candy coral, a devils hand, hammer corals, and frogspawn; all frags, and are all thriving in my tank.

like mentioned above, check out www.liveaquaria.com and look at all the different corals for ideas. and although they have a lot of good information, not all of it is accurate so be sure to do other research as well.

HTH