Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-12-2012, 07:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
How does a sump work?

Have a reef creation sump in mind but how does it work. When i do a water change do i turn it off? If i turn it off does all the water come out?

Im terrified i will flood my room

__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 07:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenner, louisiana
Posts: 593
Your dt would have some sort of overflow either external or internal, causing the water to be gravity fed into one chamber of your sump. Depending on the sump setup, the water goes through a few chambers and is finally pumped back up to the dt. As long as the plumbing is good, sumps should never leak.
__________________
somethingsfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
You also have to test it to see what water level to keep it at so it doesn't overflow when power goes off or you turn it off.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by crister13
You also have to test it to see what water level to keep it at so it doesn't overflow when power goes off or you turn it off.
I don't understand how to test it. When i was vacuuming the water level went low and the sump made a weird noise and i panicked and dumped water back in bc i thought i was gonna kill the motor.

So when i cut the power i watched the water fill up the box and panicked again and plugged it back in.

I hate it
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:23 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,640
This is because when you cut the power to your return pump, water then comes back in through the return pump line. If you don't cut the power, you can burn up your return pump if the water lvl dips below it, which is what it sounds like you did.

In mine, I simply pick up the pump setup and get the return line out of the tank. It is made of PVC so this helps.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
This is a cylinder tank the line run up the center of the tank. To get to the sump is in a tiny stupid door underneath. Im not sure here are some pics...

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-331062900.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	136.5 KB
ID:	94406



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4152881744.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	145.0 KB
ID:	94407



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1601233831.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	126.7 KB
ID:	94408



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2000535789.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	117.7 KB
ID:	94409



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4006750679.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	135.0 KB
ID:	94410
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester United Kingdom
Posts: 111
Show us the tank picture so we can see your return pipe position plus do u have a small hole on your return to cut the siphoning?
__________________
Marine4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester United Kingdom
Posts: 111
Do you want me to make a video of my system to explain how a sump works? And how you should have it?
__________________
Marine4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:42 PM   #9
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,932
If you set up your sump correctly, it will not overflow when you shut off the power. You must leave some room in your sump for the total amount of water that drains from DT in the event power is lost. Otherwise, if you have a power failure, you will have a mess on your hands.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:13 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Squidy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine4life
Do you want me to make a video of my system to explain how a sump works? And how you should have it?
yes u shud this will also help me. I currently don't have a sump
__________________
Squidy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:28 PM   #11
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384 View Post
If you set up your sump correctly, it will not overflow when you shut off the power.
Wow, really? How is that pulled off? I thought I did great until it sprung a leak and lost siphon.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:41 PM   #12
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,932
Hence the reason for a drilled tank . No siphon to worry about except the return which is easy to fix by having a few holes in it above the waterline.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:45 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,992
I agree if you set it up right water messes do not happen . I have no syphon break hole on my return but keep the nozzle right under the water line and have enough room for my sump to take the water when power goes out. I have had power go out and come back on overnight and my system was running normal the next morning even with my hang on overflow.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:48 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester United Kingdom
Posts: 111
I will upload a video in 20min time explaining sump system.
__________________
Marine4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:02 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester United Kingdom
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squidy07

yes u shud this will also help me. I currently don't have a sump
Here's video for you guys. I've tried my best to explain how sump works and how you stop overflowing the sump. Hope it helps. Leave a comment on youtube if you prefer.
__________________
Marine4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:04 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Ok so heres what I've got so far. If you look at the cylinder tank from far away you see the center cylinder has groves about 3" from the top. The water falls into those groves. When i bring the water level below them the pump runs dry. ....

Please be patient...

So when i turn the power off the sump will rise but not overflow? I want to try it out but this was established long before me and im assuming they have it rigged correctly.

What do you guys think? Should i just cut the power and see? And while i watch it what measures can i have in place in case its not properly calculated?

__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 09:28 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Squidy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine4life

Here's video for you guys. I've tried my best to explain how sump works and how you stop overflowing the sump. Hope it helps. Leave a comment on youtube if you prefer.
__________________
Squidy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 10:34 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
If you take the water out of your sump till it barely covers the main pump. Then cut the pump off let the tank drain till it hits the siphon break see where the level is in your sump. Fill the water with pumps off till about 1-2" from the top cut pumps back on take a shapie and mark where the water line is once the tank fills back up and you will know what level to keep sump and you will be safe. Or you can buy a loc-line system for your return and have the spray across the surface and you should only have very little that siphons back to sump
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 12:07 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester United Kingdom
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squidy07

thanks for the video that really helped me alot
No worries.
__________________
Marine4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 03:15 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by bavass
If you take the water out of your sump till it barely covers the main pump. Then cut the pump off let the tank drain till it hits the siphon break see where the level is in your sump. Fill the water with pumps off till about 1-2" from the top cut pumps back on take a shapie and mark where the water line is once the tank fills back up and you will know what level to keep sump and you will be safe. Or you can buy a loc-line system for your return and have the spray across the surface and you should only have very little that siphons back to sump
Ok.... Im gonna try it when i go back to the shop next week. Wish you were on speed dial or FaceTime so you could "hold my hand" while i sweat it out
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.