56 Gallon + Fish I'm unfamiliar with

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MJFish

Aquarium Advice Newbie
My brother just gave me his 56 gallon tank, with some fish...

I've had a lot of experience with fish before, but never with such a large tank and with these variety of fish. Also the tanks before were pretty much my mom's or the fish took care of themselves really (Guppies).

It seems like its mostly feeder fish (Plattys and poor quality Swordtails)
and then theres 1 Gold Angelfish, 2 Tiger Barbs, 2 Rainbow Sharks, 1 Green Molly and for some really strange reason, theres a Crayfish. I also threw in some inbred Guppies I've had forever.
(There was a Loach but I moved it to my Mom's 25 Gallon because the Crayfish kept chasing it, lol)

They all, somehow, seem to coexist just fine right now, but I don't know so much about some of these fish.

Ever since I was little I've been dying to have an Angelfish. Now that I have one I have 100,000 questions.
Supposedly Angelfish are Cichlids?!
It doesn't seem to be aggressive.
Does that mean Angelfish can go into a Cichlid tank?
And how do you gender Angelfish?
I wonder If I should also get another Angelfish or is it OK alone?
I've been feeding it Tubifex worms, flakes, and brine shrimp (or attempting to anyway, the other fish seem to grab it before the Angel does), is there anything about their diet that I should know?

I would love to have Cichlids, but I don't think it'll go so well with the easygoing tropical fish I have in there. Would it be any different if I bought them in pairs?
Or should I just discard the Cichlid idea for now...?