Ammonia issues!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bwanny

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys! This is my first time posting so bare with me if i dont give you all of the information i have. No ive had my fish in a 55 gallon tank for almost 2 years and im just now having ammonia issues. I have an oscar, a jack dempsey, a jewel cichlid and a silver dollar. Yes i understand my tank is overstocked but since this issue erupted i have fed them significantly less( every other day). I have about an inch of gravel, all plastic decorations, a UV sterilizer, air pump and a marineland penguin 350 filter. Ive done a lot of research in trying to irradicate this issue. I have been doing 50% water changes for roughly 2 weeks now every day and i cannot seem to get rid of the ammonia. Now i have an API test kit that shows me my ammonia levels are right around .50-.25ppm. I have been using prime to detoxify the ammonia to make it safe for the fish since i started. The fish arent showing any signs of stress other than the very low pH i am getting, roughly 6.0 or lower. After a water change i let my water settle and mix while the filters pumping to assure my test will not be wrong. After the water change it reads zero at night... in the morning it jumps back up to .25-.50. Its quite frustrating.
Please help. Im stumped.

Sounds to me you are doing everything right. I would continue with the water changes making sure to vacuum the gravel out each time it is done. Also, if you have someone close by that has a well established tank and you can trust their water take some of their filter gunk and throw it into your tank and it should really release many of the good bacteria needed in the cycle.:fish1::fish2::dance: