Ammonia levels in tank (yes, I'm a noob)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fisharefriendstoo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
New fish owner here and yes I was THAT person who listened to my local pet shop "fish expert". Just last Friday(5/31) I bought and established a 10 gallon tank. 3 days (sunday 6/03) later I bought 3 Zebra Danio and a suggested freshwater ammonia test kit. Of course when looking into all this now I realize that was a terrible mistake on my part. Spare me the lecture I know it was careless. But I'm trying and learning now.

My ammonia water results are below
Sunday: .25
Monday: .25
Tuesday: .50 <--- did a 30% water change
Wednesday: 1.0 <----- 50% water change
Thursday: 1.0 <---- again 50%
Today: 2.0

My tank is kept at a 78-80 degree level. I have two live plants in the tank and a filter.

Are these readings normal? And if not what do you suggest I do to correct the current situation. Any opinions are appreciated.

Are you treating your water with Prime water conditioner? It is very concentrated so it will be somewhat difficult to measure out a small enough amount for a 10g water change, but it can help prevent the ammonia from hurting the fish while you're trying to establish your cycle.

Don't be afraid to do two water changes back to back. Make sure the temperature is right and the water is treated and do one right after the other to get the numbers down to a safe level.

The cycle is Ammonia (harmful)=> Nitrite (harmful)=> Nitrate (only harmful in high concentrations) and right now you're trying to build up enough bacteria to eat the ammonia and nitrites being produced.