Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-25-2013, 03:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 354
Filter media - swapping to a bigger tank

Merry Xmas

Next month I am upgrading from a 23L to a 200L. I'm. I'm currently running a HOB aqua clear 20 filter but will be moving up to a Fluval 406 canister. I'm thinking of putting (squashing in alongside the new) my cycled media in the 406.

How quickly do you reckon it will take for the new tank to be considered cycled?
__________________

__________________
Camescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 03:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MartyMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Peabody, MA
Posts: 127
Merry, Merry to you!! To answer your question - a guess would be three weeks? A guess is not as good as a test, however. If you are crossing your fingers and hoping for the best, go with three weeks. Short of testing your numbers, seeding will give you a big head start.
__________________

__________________
60g - Lot's of endlers and 4 P.Taeniatus Moliwe (and babies)
20g Long - a few endlers and RCS
20g Long - Chilli Rasboras, Scarlet Badis, RCS
29g SA biotope - many SA inhabitants
MartyMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 03:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 354
No finger crossing. I'll be testing as per.

Thing is, if I move the cycled media across I will need to move the shrimps, assassins and neons as well. So it's either a case of

A) shift the lot on the basis that the tank will have enough BB to sustain what I am moving across, then wait a few weeks before adding more.

B) Treat the new tank as brand new, fail to seed it and cycle it from scratch.
__________________
Camescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 07:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 142
If you don't have much choice in moving the shrimp across, I'd say move your old media in to the Fluval 406 (There's loads of unused space in there when using the media Fluval supply). Then get a biological additive such as Tetra SafeStart and dump it in there, wait a short while and pop in your shrimp etc.

HOWEVER, if you are ok with waiting, just do as above, but without moving your media across. Do a water change from your old tank and add it to the new tank. Add Tetra SafeStart and let it cycle. You may also need to add ammonia, it will take a lot longer but I'm sure there's a lot of people on here who will tell you to do this (or similar).
__________________
thebritishbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 07:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Toad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,204
I'm confused, are you moving your entire tank that you have now into the bigger one? Because if you are, just move all the filter material to the new filter, let it run for an hour or two, add the current fish and you're done. If you want to add more fish I'd wait a few weeks and then only add a couple at a time.
__________________
Toad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 07:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 354
Yeah. Entire tank. Then once the BB has built up on the 406 media I will move the transferred media back to the 23L and get that back running as a shrimp tank.

It's really just a way to beat all the waiting. I've got 8 neons in a tank that is too small so I want to transfer them ASAP. I just wasn't sure if the size difference would play a major role.
__________________
Camescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 07:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
I would go with option A. All you have to do is add the media to the new filter, making sure it is touching the new Bio media. There will be enough BB to sustain your current stock. Add new stock as normal, not too much at once. I would leave the 'old' media in the new filter for 2-3 weeks to allow BB to transfer to the new media. You can then put the old media back....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 07:48 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 354
Thanks. That is what I was hoping for.

Deposit is on the new tank. Gonna get it in the new year and get it up and running. Been planning all month. Can't wait.
__________________
Camescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 07:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
molliwopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Uk, England.
Posts: 2,110
Me personally i would set up the 200l and use the media to seed by rinsing the media(if its sponge) near the intake of the 406 or swap 50/50 new for.established media (if its biorings) place it into the 406 and then proceed to cycle it normally with ammonia for afew weeks. Its what ive always done if a filter cant be permenantly removed for some time to the new tank. This would save you moving stock that would then have to be caught again. Also a miniture cycle is bound to happen as the sustaining bacteria for the bioload will be spilt, probably unevenly between both filters. It would be very mini though.
__________________
Fish die belly upward and rise to the surface. It's their way of falling.


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
molliwopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 07:53 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camescu View Post
Thanks. That is what I was hoping for.

Deposit is on the new tank. Gonna get it in the new year and get it up and running. Been planning all month. Can't wait.
Just make sure to test daily for 1-2weeks. A good liquid test kit(API) is essential. Don't rely on a lfs to test your water accurately...
Any Ammonia spikes, do a large water change ASAP, at least 50%....
Good luck and enjoy your new tank.....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 08:01 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by molliwopp View Post
Its a tricky one actually and not very straight forward. Me personally i would set up the 200l and use the media to seed and then proceed to cycle it normally with ammonia for afew weeks as its what ive always done if a filter cant be permenantly removed for some time to the new tank this would save you moving stock that would then have to be caught. Also a miniture cycle ia bound to happen as the sustaining bacteria for the bioload will be spilt and probably unevenly between both filters.
But why cycle, when you already have the BB. Transferring ALL the media to the new filter correctly will easily cover the Bio-load of the existing stock. Adding new stock slowly, testing daily and doing a large WC(if needed) will cover any chance of a mini-cycle
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 08:04 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by molliwopp View Post
Me personally i would set up the 200l and use the media to seed by rinsing the media(if its sponge) near the intake of the 406 and then proceed to cycle it normally with ammonia for afew weeks or swap 50/50 new for established (if its biomedia like rings) Its what ive always done if a filter cant be permenantly removed for some time to the new tank. This would save you moving stock that would then have to be caught again. Also a miniture cycle is bound to happen as the sustaining bacteria for the bioload will be spilt, probably unevenly between both filters. It would be very mini though.

I was thinking the biomedia (rings) carbon stuff and sponge to be honest.

If I seed then the existing tank has to transfer as it won't have anything left. Alternatively I cycle from scratch. Keen to shift the neons, but keen to do things right.
__________________
Camescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 08:06 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 354
And yeah, Ian, I use API now (religiously). So it would be a cycled tank for existing but fish in cycle for any new stock (added v slowly of course)?
__________________
Camescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2013, 08:12 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
molliwopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Uk, England.
Posts: 2,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian086 View Post
But why cycle, when you already have the BB. Transferring ALL the media to the new filter correctly will easily cover the Bio-load of the existing stock. Adding new stock slowly, testing daily and doing a large WC(if needed) will cover any chance of a mini-cycle
I was editing and trying to explain myself more while you were typing a reply. Yes it will cover the existing stock but once the existing filter is removed the bacteria could be split. To be honest the bioload is so small that this is one of the situations where there is no right or wrong answer, both will work and will be more than managable if anything where to rock the boat. Infact you could add the neons to a 200l and the ammonia they would be creating would take a month to become a problem and a single 50% change would knock this back.

So a simple regular water change in the 200 would easily solve the problem.
__________________

__________________
Fish die belly upward and rise to the surface. It's their way of falling.


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
molliwopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
app, big, filter, filter media, media, swap, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.