Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-15-2010, 06:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 173
Filter Pad

Hello I have a 10 Gallon Tank
3 Zebra Danios
4 neon Tetras
1 Betta and some plants.

Tomorrow I'm planning on buying 3 more fish 2 cory cats,and 1 more zebra danio,but I also want a new filter pad I havent changed it at all since the start of the tank which was back in Febuary,but I'm worried that since I'm getting new fish and changing the filter pad will mess up my cyle I have aAqeuon 10 gallon filter.,and I want to change my filter because everytime I change my tank my water is always brown so I dont know if the filter is still doing its job.


__________________

__________________
rocktrns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 09:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
wash it in old tank water. they also tend to over rate the filter so adding another one of those would also help. though i only use the aquaclears.
__________________

__________________
Google.
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 09:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
Get a filter pad with no carbon in it. It will have more fibre to take out particles.
__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
is the water passing through the filter or over it? if it is through, then swish it around in the used PWC water, if it is over, then swish it harder. I never changed a filter until it tore.
__________________
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 11:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
JohnPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,017
Do yourself and your fish a HUGE favor and buy yourself an AquaClear hang on back filter. When I first got into the hobby I had a filter just like yours (came free with the tank, and I didn't know any better) but after reading tons of people here on AA and on other forums praising the AquaClear filters, I finally got one of those.

Wow. What a huge difference. Much, much better filtering, PLUS it was way quieter than that one. I mean, massively more quiet.

The AquaClear filters are the way to go.

Oh, and btw, do you have any driftwood in your tank? Usually when water is brown, it is from tannins leaching into the water from driftwood. If that's the case, no filter is going to remove that--the only way to reduce the brown coloration is to keep on schedule on your partial water changes.
__________________
JohnPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnPaul View Post
Do yourself and your fish a HUGE favor and buy yourself an AquaClear hang on back filter. When I first got into the hobby I had a filter just like yours (came free with the tank, and I didn't know any better) but after reading tons of people here on AA and on other forums praising the AquaClear filters, I finally got one of those.

Wow. What a huge difference. Much, much better filtering, PLUS it was way quieter than that one. I mean, massively more quiet.

The AquaClear filters are the way to go.

Oh, and btw, do you have any driftwood in your tank? Usually when water is brown, it is from tannins leaching into the water from driftwood. If that's the case, no filter is going to remove that--the only way to reduce the brown coloration is to keep on schedule on your partial water changes.
Yes I have 2 pieces of drift wood,also if I do buy a new filter how would I incorporate it into my tank so I wont mess my cycle up?

Also do you think I could add 3 more fish to my tank?
__________________
rocktrns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:02 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,067
Since cories like to be in larger groups I would say no to the cories. You could probably get away with adding a few more danios OR neons.

If you buy another filter, just run both for a while and let the new filter get seeded. If you are switching and don't or can't run two filters then pack the media from your old one into the new one. I too highly recommend AquaClear filters. They have a large media basket which you can fit lots of stuff. Mine is currently set up like: sponge/foam on bottom, biomax in the middle, and polyfiber on top. In my 10g I just run polyfiber.
__________________

__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sock, Filter Pad or Something Else eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 02-04-2010 09:59 PM
scotch brite pad as bio-filter? AlissasDad Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 09-08-2008 11:38 PM
poly fiber filter pad ryshark General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-28-2008 10:52 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
Filter pad question dralarms Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 03-25-2004 09:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.