Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-03-2006, 09:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 193
Send a message via AIM to ct67_72
first water change

so my tank has been up an running for a few weeks not. I used turbo start to short cycle it. I think this is either the 2nd or third week it has been running and evrything has been great, as of right now the tests are as follows;
nitrate about 20 ppm nitrite about .5 ppm hardness about 100-110 alkalinity/buffering about 80 and ph 6.8-7, the alkalinity seems to be getting lower.
I have 3 angel fish, 2 fairly small and one fairly large. 3 platties, one male betta, 2 ghost shrimp, a clown loach and a cory. should I be doing the first water change now? and does all of this seem in line.

just to ad, I have been doing this for a while and have had good success with all my tanks, and considered my self semi knowledgeable, but you guys blow me away. and I take everyones opinion and advise seriously and hope to better my self from it. Thanks. Dan
__________________

__________________
ct67_72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 09:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Doing a water change would be a good idea IMO. Nitrites of 0ppm are the ideal condition.

Any pics of your tanks and fish?
__________________

__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Are you using the test strips? By the results that you gave, it seems likely. Have you tested for Ammonia?
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 07:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 193
Send a message via AIM to ct67_72
yeah I have the 5 in one test strips. Im trying to get a digital camera to get some pics. hopefully soon Im pretty proud of what I have so far.
__________________
ct67_72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2006, 11:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I don't take much stock in the strips. You need to get a liquid reagent test kit. They are cheaper and more accurate. At this point you need to test for Ammonia. Can you go to a lfs and have them test your water qith a reagent kit? If not, you may want to try buying one.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 12:21 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
yeah ya may wanna stear away from the strips they can go bad just from opening the lid a bunch of times, apperently the reagent meets with moisture in the air and makes them invalid, happened to me
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 05:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 193
Send a message via AIM to ct67_72
well goo dto know, Ill get a new master test kit
__________________

__________________
ct67_72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water change or just add RO water during cure process???? caco Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 10-23-2008 10:50 AM
Water change - sit for a week - cloudy after change satch Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-07-2008 05:58 PM
To water change or not to water change. that is the question Andari Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 01-05-2007 04:38 PM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 01:44 PM
When should I do my 1st water change? And water change ? stew Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-11-2003 01:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.