Fish Selector Wizard?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LetterJ

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I bought a 20 gallon tank a couple of days ago and, while it's in the middle of a fishless cycle (glad I read that before just throwing fish in). I'm now digging through piles and piles of sites on species trying to figure out exactly what will go into this tank.

Rather than just asking one more time "what fish should I put in here", I'm wondering if there's a bit of software or a site that will let me select species by things like "minimum tank size" or exclude fish that "do best in brackish water". As it is, I seem to be seeing nothing but large lists of fish and I have ot pick through them one at a time only to find out time and time again that I need at least 50 gallons to even consider that species.

I guess because I'm a software/web developer, I tend to look for a software solution to this kind of narrowing down. I want to be able to query by minimum tank size, mature size, minimum count, etc. to work through the permutations and see the possibilities without bothering anyone else.

Does such a tool or site exist?

i highly doubt that... because most people dont have the time and money to make such a large program. they probably wont really make much money making it too.
maybe you could make one :).

The sheer amount of fish that would have to be included in that program, WOAH. If you could give us somewhat of a description of what you are looking for, we'd be glad to help. Point you in the right direction. For example:

Fewer larger fish
Many small fish
A couple large fish and a couple schools
Colors
Planted or Unplanted tank
Peaceful or Agressive
Any particular fish that really caught your attention