Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishyKisses

Aquarium Advice Freak
Just got my API master test kit in the mail...tested nitrate(160 ppm) nitrite(0 ppm) ammonia(.25 ppm) and ph(7.6) what do I do? What are good parameters? I am really new at learning the right way to care for an aquarium. For the past three weeks, I have done a 25% wc every other day, and one 50% per week.

Forgot to add it a 29 gallon, with 6 adult platies, two blue gouramis, and ACF, and one albino bristle nose pleco. I have a filter pump(HOB) rated for a 55 gallon, temp is 80, and large bubble wand. Oh, and I did the 50% water change on Saturday.

Since you are a self proclaimed beginner, here is a link to an easy to understand nitrogen cycle chart. Learn it, know it, love it.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-1LeIHRRayWA/UJNYNtrdhdI/AAAAAAAAIPI/GiOy946cjKw/s1600/nitrogen-1.jpeg

160ppm nitrate is extremely toxic! With all those water changes, it should be going down. Did you let your filter cycle?

Yes, it has been up and running for about three years. I had never tested water or done regular water changes until I joined this site.

I am going to retest the nitrates, and do a water change again. How long after the wc can I test again? I will do a 50%, unless you think I should do more????

Oh wow, my apologies on the whole beginner thing! Well I'm thinking that since you've been doing all these water changes and the nitrates are high, it has something to do with the filter. Do you have a filter insert changing schedule?
I would wait about 30 mins to an hour after a wc to test again. What did the test say this time ?

Oh wow, my apologies on the whole beginner thing! Well I'm thinking that since you've been doing all these water changes and the nitrates are high, it has something to do with the filter. Do you have a filter insert changing schedule?