Help milky white water!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

salvajero

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ok, so I have a fifty five gallon tank that has been up and running for about 6 months. There are 10 four to five inch chiclids in it, and for they all seem to be happy. But I just cannot keep the water clean. This is my first tank so I am still learning. My tank was set up with the grates on the bottom and power heads, and I still had milky water issues. I was told to get rid of that and get a high quality hang on filter, wich I did. It has three stages to it, foam, carbon, and media rocks. I was performing 50% water changes every week to try and keep it clean, wich would work for about 2 days, then it would be white again. I was told that was to often so I cut it down to every other week, but that did not help. I have put cycle, or good bacteria supplement in the tank and that has not helped. It was bothering so bad the other day I did a big water change and that evening my fish were not looking to good, 1 died right away, another got white fungus all over and then died. I do rinse my media rocks off with tap water, just read that I shouldnt be doing that. I dont no what to do and I feel like just giving up. Oh yeah, have the test strips with 6 test on them, and everything looks great, thats another reason why I am feeling so confussed.

Hello, and welcome to AA.

I am sorry to hear about your troubles with the tank. I hope you don't give up - if you push through an initial "crash course" phase with aquariums, you can learn to keep fish healthy, and how to stock your tank, no problem. From there, how much you want to learn is all up to you. It won't be this hard forever :)

There are a few things going on in your tank. I've got a few questions: