Help! My Corydoras isn’t doing well.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

UncleLeo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I’m new to this fish life, so please help me take care of these fish correctly. I purchased 2 Corydoras 3 days ago. The guy told me they were sterbai Corydoras, but after looking at pictures I’m not sure if they are. Anyways, I read that you should QT new fish and give them some medicine to make sure they’re healthy before introducing them to other fish (we have a betta fish). I put them in a container (about 1 gallon for now), and purchased ICH-X, General cure, and fin and body cure. When I put them in the container, I slowly add a little bit of the water from my tank and then few hours later added a little more, like the guy at the store told me. I fed them a sinking wager and a little bit of bug bite (not at the same time).

The next day, I started the fin and body cure treatment. This morning I noticed the tail of one of them started floating upwards. I googled and read it could be swim blaster disease. I vacuumed the bottom (I put a thin layer of sand) and did a 25% water change and didn’t feed them today, just in case it was because he/she ate too much, and added the 3rd dose of fin and body cure. Now it looks like the second one is developing it too! Could it be the medicine? Could it be something I’m doing? It hurts to think I’m harming them. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I should also mention that I also notice some redness by their gills. It looks internal. I just thought that was how it looked, but when I looked up sterbai, I don’t see it in any pictures which is why I think they might be a different kind. Could they have been sick when I bought them? Could it be something other than SBD?

Attachments

• 7D13E6F3-597B-4CBD-824F-57D695BA4382.jpg
    7D13E6F3-597B-4CBD-824F-57D695BA4382.jpg
    168.6 KB · Views: 41