help with moving fish tank to new house?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

annnie

Aquarium Advice Activist
hi,

i need to move my fish tanks tomorrow.. and i'm not sure how to move the shrimp.
i was wandering whether i could leave some water in the 8 gallon but i've read everywhere that you must not have any water in the tanks. Its only an 8 gallon and only going 10-15mins to the other house.. so would i be able to move them like that? i think trying to dig them out of all the java moss would stress them out too much especially the ones holding eggs.

any other info on moving would be awsome.. its my first time and i'm so clueless and stressing haha.

i would take 3 or 4 gal out and move it . i have done this with my biger tanks when i moved .i had no problem's doing this

ok its settled.. So glad its doable!..

haha dkpate! Its been a bit of a struggle getting into it tho.. the real estate agent said we cant move into it until friday... but we have to get out of this place tomorrow.. meaning big drama with the fish!.. so i convinced them to give us the garage button so i can at least put the fish there.. i didnt want to get them into a hotel for a night then move them again :-O

But so can't wait :) .. Big fish tank here i come! haha.. i went to the fish store today ;-) planning my wishlist.. and the staff were awsome! they gave me a styrofoam esky and lots of fish bags and stuff for the move for free! they even gave me a hands on lesson on bagging fish.. theres more to it than i thought haha.

Very very nice!!! (The pet shop people lol). That's crappy about the being stuck in between part! I would be soooo stressed!