Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-07-2006, 12:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 27
How do you do your water changes?

Many people, like me, are new into fish hobby and don't know the Do's and Don'ts of the hobby.

One of the things I've been thinking a lot is the best way to perform water changes. Some people do it one way, some do it the other way. I'll like to read how you guys perform this so important part of the care of our "sons".

For example I fill a 20 gallons plastic trash can with water, just one or two days before changing the water. This trash can is right beside the fish tank so it "grabs" the room temperature and in the mean time releases the chlorine it has. Then, the day I'm going to do the water change I took about 1/3 or 2/3 of water from the fish tank and fill back the tank with the water I was holding on the trash can. Then I add the chemicals.

I know this is not a very good way to do it but no one told me how to do it from the beginning.
__________________

__________________
ThaBone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 01:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: RI
Posts: 624
Man, I am glad I have well water.........I just hook up my python and suck out 50% and then fill it back up. No chemicals no worries.
__________________

GlitcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 01:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
evercl92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Groveport, OH
Posts: 643
A python is the only way to do tanks over 10 gal...

Here is the link

probably the best investment I've made for my aquarium
__________________
"... if any one specie does not become modified and improved in a corresponding degree with its competitors, it will soon be exterminated." - Charles Darwin
evercl92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 01:34 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
With the explosion of water treatment products, you no longer have to age your water to remove chlorine or chloramines. The cost vs convenience is extraordinary.

That being said, your next step is to get yourself a python and your water change schedule will be reduced from the two days to 5 minutes.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 02:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 27
I think this is a misunderstood. I'm not talking about reducing time changing water. I'm talking about water parameters, temperature, treatments etc. All the things that need to be done in order to not affect the fish each time you change water. Even a monkey know how to take out water from a bucket.
__________________
ThaBone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 02:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Just adjust the temperature of the water as you fill the bucket with hot and cold water. Close is good enough. Add your dechlor and dump the water in.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 03:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
what do you need with the python to hook it up to the bathroom sink I see all kinds of adaptors and valves what do i need to just hook it up to the sink vacuum out the water and fill the tank back up while adding the water treatment
__________________
turkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 03:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 751
Python all the way. I suck out my 30-50%, adjust the water temperature to the temperature of my tank, reverse the value, pour in some prime, and watch 'er fill. Couldn't be easier, and my fish really seem to love PWC time.
__________________
bosk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 04:56 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: laredo,tx.
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to onah Send a message via MSN to onah
yep, python no way around it.
__________________
things that make u go hmmmmmmm......
onah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 05:47 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
No need to "age" water. What chemicals are you adding?

I empty the old water via a Python. Then refill (via Python) while adding Prime.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 05:56 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 277
Send a message via MSN to Esra
Anyone know where in Australia you can buy the Python's?
I have a 120G and really need one.

I don't bother aging my water, just use Prime.
__________________
Esra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 07:06 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 775
Send a message via ICQ to zenkatydid Send a message via AIM to zenkatydid Send a message via MSN to zenkatydid
esra, i've never seen them for sale at shops - your best bet would be to get one online and shipped over. personally, though, i just bought a garden hose and pull it over the tap to refill my tank - just as good as a python, and cost me about $5. to get water out, i use a 50L storage tub and a normal gravel vac - i've heard that the pythons have problems with suction strength, and i don't like the amount of water they waste in operation.
__________________
50gal planted - yoyo loaches, BNs, odessa barbs, giant danios
33gal planted - praecox rainbows, gold ram, bolivian rams, sparkling gouramis, licorice gouramis, lots of shrimp
2 x 5gal planted - bettas
zenkatydid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 08:04 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by turkey
what do you need with the python to hook it up to the bathroom sink I see all kinds of adaptors and valves what do i need to just hook it up to the sink vacuum out the water and fill the tank back up while adding the water treatment
First the pump has two setting, fill and empty. The empty is done by using water pressure, it requires physics to explain and I would probably need to use works like Bernoulli. Letís just say it's done very easily with the twist of the wrist.

A lot of people don't understand the sink hook up process. You need either a faucet with a removable aerator, usually found in the kitchen, or a sink with a treaded faucet like for a garden hose, usually found in your basement. There are different aerators, thus the necessity for an adaptor.

These are Faucet Aerators: http://amconservationgroup.com/catalog.aspx?catid=16

Some faucets have them permanently attached, like most bathroom faucets. My bathroom faucet has a permanent aerator. Pythons are not designed for bathroom sinks. There is to much water volume and the pump is to long in most cases**.

**Legal Note - Not every bathroom is the same and some people may be using the python in their bathrooms but most people arenít.

P.S. Pythons rule but may cause side effects like:

-Wanting a larger aquarium (10 gallon itch)
-Wanting more aquariums (MTS)
-Keeping more fish and doing more water changes to keep your fish healthy (increased water bill-itis)
__________________

__________________
docrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 04:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 01:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 02:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 09:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 08:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.