Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-22-2006, 05:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
how does this happen? buffer problem?

As I mentioned in my other post, I wastyhinking ofmoving some fish to another tank, so to begin the procedure I checked the PH of both tanks, my 29 is a very stable 7.2 but my 10 gallon is a 6.0, they both get water from the same source, so why would it be diffrent? is it a buffering problem or a waste problem since the fish are way to big for this tank?

__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 06:01 PM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It is hard to tell IMO. There are so many reasons why pH fluctuates especially when comparing two different tanks. Although both get their water from the same source, it is most likely a combination of reasons why the drastic change between tanks.

One tank may be stocked heavier, different temperature, different use of chemicals, filter media, different amounts of aeration, photosynthesis from any plants, and so many more reasons. Maybe change some of the setup, or some minerals.

Some people belive that pH is not that important. IMO, it usually is not that critical, however sending the fish into shock is. I wouldn't stress about it to much but try get the two tanks as close as possible before moving fish.

From what I know, you shouldn't raise pH more than .2 per day whether natural, or chemical methods.

Please keep in mind this is all IMO so hopefully someone else will chime in, lot of knowledge on here!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 06:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 173
What sort of test kit are you using to get these firgures? You should keep in mind that if you are using test strips, they are very liable to be innaccurate.

Also, if your 10 gallon is overloaded, that could lower the pH. Decomposing waste produces carbonic acid, which acidifies the water. If you get a little lax about vacuuming up waste, the pH can drop.

What's all the info on both of your tanks? Tell the temperature, filters/media, substrate, plants, and chemicals used on both and maybe I can help you out a little better.
__________________
HannahJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 07:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Do several large water changes. Usually this happens when the tank crashes. How often are you doing water changes and what percentage?
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 08:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
sorry but I refuse to even look at test strips LOL I wouldn't use them to test the water in my toilet lol I use aquarium Pharmaceuticals test kits, I do 25 % water changes every week, I'd say the problem is the waste, considering this tank is a drop off tank someone ditched on me and itsa way to overstocked, I've been trying to get rid of the fish but I haven't had any luck
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 09:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: johnson city, tennessee
Posts: 137
if your 10 gal is recently cycled if i recall the cycling process i fairly acidic process
__________________
sith j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 11:07 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Then you answered your own question. Increase the water changes because the current schedule is not adequate.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
buffer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ph buffer tamra&steven DIY Projects 8 05-29-2008 06:53 PM
should i use this buffer? sir_dudeguy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 06-06-2006 04:06 PM
Seachem Reef Buffer/Marine Buffer pH 8.3 L2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 06-05-2006 09:29 AM
Experience with SeaChem Acid Buffer & Alkaline Buffer _Nemo_ Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-23-2004 11:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.