Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-06-2010, 11:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 293
New Filters???

Hey AA community,

I have a 29g tank I bought about a month ago, and I've introduced quite a few fish which I now know is a no-no, and there is always an ABUNDANCE of fish poo whenever the gravel is disrupted or just when it decides it wants to take a stroll around the tank. I have an aqueon filter (it came with the tank setup) and it just doesn't seem to be cutting the chase.

I've been pondering buying the Emperor BioWheel filter and an undergravel filter. Is this a good idea? or will changing the filters destroy what cycling process I already have?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Ilikefishes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
if you want to get a better filter, leave the one you have on there for about a month or so. I wouldnt recommend anything but an aquaclear filter, but thats just my personal preference... once the tank is cycled, you can start doing a gravel vac as often as necessary to remove the uneaten food and detrius from the gravel
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:50 AM   #3
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
+1
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 12:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ampa one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: maine
Posts: 260
well as mdf has said i allso would recommned the aquaclear.i would not recommend the undergravel .leave old filter on and set up new for 3 to 4 wk's
__________________
ampa one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 08:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 293
Thanks alot! I did my research on the Emperor vs. the Aquaclear and the aquaclear is definitely the way to go. But how am I going to run two filters at once while I'm cycling the new one? My cover only has an opening for one.
__________________
Ilikefishes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
if you cant run two at once with the hood you have, take the hood off. i dont run a top on any of my tanks at all, but if you really want it, a few weeks without wont be too bad for ya
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 12:06 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 293
I have cats who are always gazing into my tank so a top is kind of vital. :/
__________________
Ilikefishes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 01:25 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
martiniduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 133
Take the media from Aqueon and use it in the Aquaclear.
__________________
martiniduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 09:38 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WhiteDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 60118
Posts: 2,438
use aluminum foil if you want to seal off the top, leaving some condesation/evaporation room. I do it when I am cleaning tanks and my wifes cat and our daughter wont stay out of the open top.
__________________

__________________
That's not a planted tank. That's a jungle with glass around it- MFDROOKIE Circa 2011
WhiteDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New filters. n3wt Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 06-21-2008 01:58 AM
filters hockeydude15 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 09-10-2007 11:25 AM
Filters melosu58 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 09-05-2006 07:03 PM
Filters, Filters, Filters....... mandi Archive 2 04-18-2005 07:35 AM
filters savy420 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-14-2005 02:39 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.