No NitrAtes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NeptuneJoe

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I am still very new to the planted aquarium, therefore I am still learning alot. In my 56 gallon planted aquarium I have about 10 Red fire guppies, 1 chinese algae eater, and 3 amazon swords. My tank is filtered by a Fluval 305 cannister filter, heated by a 200 watt visi-therm heater (tank stays at about 80*), and I also have a 10 watt aqua step HOB UV sterilizer which is powered by a little giant submersible pond pump. In late July I purchased the 3 amazon sword plants, which grew very little and began to turn yellow and translucent between the veins. After some research, I decided I didn't have enough light (nor the right color of light), and wasn't using any fertilizers. So I upgraded from using 2-24" T-8's which were using standard grow bulbs to a canopy which uses 6-24" T-8's all using daylight bulbs. I also began adding 3 caps of Flourish Excel each morning and 1- capful of Flourish Iron after each water change. Since adding the additional lighting and plant supplements, my nitrAte levels never rise above 0. My Ammonia and nitrIte levels are also at zero. Prior to adding the supplements, my nitrAte levels would ususaly be around 10 to 15 PPM by the end of the week, when I ususally perform my PWC's. The tank has been set up for almost two years, and I am certain it has cycled because I have seen it produce nitrAtes in the past. Should I be worried? Is there something that I am doing wrong, or needs to be changed? My amazons are growing like mad (4" of growth in less than a month) and have sprouted new growth like crazy. Also, the leafs have darkened to where I can no longer see the through the tissue or the veins as I was able to before. Thanks for the help in advance. You guys are awesome.

nitrate is a plant food, its the most used fert.