Raise ph

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wildone

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm sorry to beat a dead horse again but, my ph is below 6.0 and I need to raise it, how much crushed coral should I use in my 55 g? All other parameters are great, just can't keep my ph level/up thank you.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Im not an expert at all but I was advised that to raise my ph I should vacuum the gravel. It did work. Raised from 6 to 7. Dont know why it worked and not dropped again

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I vacuum my gravel every 3rd water change, so this last time I did and no change :-( thanx for your input.

I would start adding crushed coral at a rate of 1/2 cup per day, just to make sure it doesn't make it swing too quickly. Most of the time if you buy it it will be 20-40lb and you won't need all of that anyway, so just adding it a bit of a time is the best way to approach it.

Thanx threnjen, where should I put the coral? In a media bag, suspend it under my filter, or just mix it in with my gravel?

Thanx threnjen, where should I put the coral? In a media bag, suspend it under my filter, or just mix it in with my gravel?

I went to target and bought a pair of women's tights (on clearance for $3) then cut the foot off and left about 10 inches of the leg attached. Pretty straight forward after that. Fill with coral place in desired location, check back and see how much has dissolved, dose accordingly.

I put mine in the top basket of my filter and it didn't take very much to buffer it up. My PH was dropping from 7 to 6.4 in a week between water changes. Now it's very stable.