Segmented worms - Please help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jratuszn

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have been battling tiny white worms in my tank for a few months. They aren't crawling on the glass, I ocassionally see them free-swimming in the water. I have heard them described on some sites as "whip worms" but I think this is a misnomer, as whip worms are a pretty pathogenic parasite, and my fish seem to be getting along fine with them. They just gross me out, and I want them gone.

I have tried repeated formalin treatments, which kill off a ton of the worms, but they keep coming back, even after extended treatments. These things grow to 2+ cm if I leave them be.

I saw one suggestion to try acetic acid (vinegar) at 1 tsp / 10 gal, but I am kindof wary as I don't want it to kill off my discus. I have also gotten recommendations to reduce feeding, but there is never any food left after I feed, and I do daily 30% wc's. I don't want to cut back and stunt my fish.

75 gal, Xp3, 5 discus btw 3-5"
Amm, Ites, 0, Nitrates <5, ph high 7's.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Jeff

Eesh, QTing 5 discus is tough. Plus, i know a few of them eat the worms, (with no ill effects that I've seen) so there may even be eggs in their poop. This is all just guessing.

My tank is a barebottom, so anything I can do in QT, I can do in it. I know these things hide out in my filter, cuz whenever I dose Formalin, I inject it right into the filter intake line. I see tons of worms stream out of the return. I've even tried disconnecting the filter and soaking the parts and media overnight in concentrations that would nuke my fish, and bleaching all of the hoses. Still didn't work.