Starting a Betta Sorority,hELP?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GuppyAquatail109

Aquarium Advice Regular
I want to start a betta sorority with my remaining female in my tank.I will be using 9 gallons(1 gallon would be divided for the male)How do you set up a sorority?

I have a neon tetra, 3 glowlight tetras and a female betta.I got a male betta and was planning to breed them,but failed.(I'm new at this,and the betta didn't make a bubble nest).

I bred bettas for a long time. I'm not familiar with the word Sorority used other than in a club for college girls. Are you trying to breed them?

I want to start a betta sorority with my remaining female in my tank.I will be using 9 gallons(1 gallon would be divided for the male)How do you set up a sorority?

I have a neon tetra, 3 glowlight tetras and a female betta.I got a male betta and was planning to breed them,but failed.(I'm new at this,and the betta didn't make a bubble nest).

In 9 gallons with the existing stock you are actually overstocked.
The tetras really don't belong in that size tank, they should have atleast 20 so if you can rehome those then a sorority could work.

I've never done one in less than 28g but hear a lot of people have success with them in 10g, 9 isn't much difference.
You want atleast 4 females total, but in a 9 you really can't have more than 5 and you really can't have anymore until you remove the tetras like I stated already.
Plant/decorate the tank very well, make sure there are plenty of hiding spaces and tall plants to break up the line of sight at the top. Remove your existing girl while you are doing this so that she loses her sense of territory.
Then add her and all the new girls back all at once. You can float them in cups in the tank before adding them too if you want them to get used to each other a bit before hand as well.