Stocking a Small Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shanny

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi everyone!

So now that my big tank is finally cycling I am looking at another tank. Lol. Ya, I got the bug.

A friend gave me a 15g long tank and a coworker is giving me a 10g complete set up. I'm going to set up one as a qt tank but I'd like to set up the other in my kitchen. What I'm wondering is what fw fish do well in a small tank? I want low waste fish so that I don't have to do pwc more than once a week. Also would be nice to have more than just 1 or 2 in there. I'm still a learning newbie so easy to keep would be good too.

I was thinking cherry barbs? Or rasboras? Or could I do a betta tank? Not a good idea to keep females with a males full time though right?

Anyone have thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks!

Hi everyone!

So now that my big tank is finally cycling I am looking at another tank. Lol. Ya, I got the bug.

A friend gave me a 15g long tank and a coworker is giving me a 10g complete set up. I'm going to set up one as a qt tank but I'd like to set up the other in my kitchen. What I'm wondering is what fw fish do well in a small tank? I want low waste fish so that I don't have to do pwc more than once a week. Also would be nice to have more than just 1 or 2 in there. I'm still a learning newbie so easy to keep would be good too.

I was thinking cherry barbs? Or rasboras? Or could I do a betta tank? Not a good idea to keep females with a males full time though right?

Anyone have thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks!
I adore nano freshwater! I am your man on this one lol Here is what I suggest:
Ember tetras
scarlet badis (or any of its similar sized cousins)
hasbrous cories
Chilli rasboras
any microrasbora
endlers
shrimp
snails
and more