Tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fish Novice 12

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok so i am just beginning my little aquarium and i dont know much about fish. I have a 5 gallon tank with a blue gourami and a common goldfish (both adults). They have been in the same tank for around a week now and they havnt had any problems with eachother. I know for sure that the gourami is a female and i think the goldfish is a male. I was wondering what other fish would be compatable with my gourami if i would ever decide to get a bigger tank. Please let me know thanks

That tank is to small for a goldfish and even a gourami imo your already overstocked

Please keep in mind that the goldfish is only around an inch or so long

U should go bigger now and keep who u have. U said both "adults", there are not many goldfish that max out at 1". So go bigger before they get ammonia burns.

Ok that is another question that i had. Is there and kind of filter or water treatment that reduces ammonia levels?

No, water change is the only thing that would reduce it. Right now with the fish u have to prevent long term issues u should be doing daily 100% water change. This would be terribly shocking for the fish and u would be in a constant cycling process. So go bigger if u want these guys to live a long happy life

Fish Novice 12 said:
Ok so i am just beginning my little aquarium and i dont know much about fish. I have a 5 gallon tank with a blue gourami and a common goldfish (both adults). They have been in the same tank for around a week now and they havnt had any problems with eachother. I know for sure that the gourami is a female and i think the goldfish is a male. I was wondering what other fish would be compatable with my gourami if i would ever decide to get a bigger tank. Please let me know thanks

Hi,