Mystery snail eggs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kwhite

Aquarium Advice Regular
Well, after having my 3 mystery snails in my 25 gal tank for several months, I now I have my first eggs! There are 3 clutches that have been recently laid. What should I expect?? Is there anything I should do? How many babies should I expect(approximately iof course)? I'm fairly new to snails so any info is appreciated!

Snail fun

Well, after having my 3 mystery snails in my 25 gal tank for several months, I now I have my first eggs! There are 3 clutches that have been recently laid. What should I expect?? Is there anything I should do? How many babies should I expect(approximately iof course)? I'm fairly new to snails so any info is appreciated!

You should expect LOTZA babies!!!

Check out applesnail.net there is the most comprehensive info I have seen anywhere, quite amazing! I have had baby MS several times just a week ago for the last one. Sometimes they get too dry and are duds. They need to be moist but not wet, the little babies are breathing in there and the water will suffocate them.

Local pet stores will trade you stuff for them but usually when they are the size of a marble or larger. A mature stable not overly clean tank (like on the walls and rocks is what I am referring too/they still like clean water).

Very fun, but sooooooo many!

If the area they were laid in is a bit on the dry side, you can carefully remove the clutches, being careful not to crush them. A sharp knife blade slipped between the clutch and whatever they are on works.