George's 28G Nano Cube Build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

George9

Aquarium Advice Addict
Brace yourself salties!! This is my first try at saltwater, so I will probably be asking a lot of questions here.

I have a JBJ nano cube 28 CF Quad. Set it up about five days ago. I'm day 5 into a shrimp cycle . Ammo is reading 2-4 ppm, nitrites are .25 and nitrates are already at 5

I have about 20 lbs of rock, 17-18 lbs of it is dry. I also have 35 lbs of sand .

I wanna make this a reef eventually, but for now I'd like to stick with some fish and live rock. I plan on:
1 occ. clown
1 royal gramma
1 purple fire fish
1 sixline wrasse
In this order

Here is what the tank looks like right now, I'm open to any suggestions and advice on anything. This is where I will be posting all of my questions/problems

Thanks guys!!

image-1243973250.jpg

I dunno why the camera seems to shrink the rock, lol it actually looks fuller in person for some reason

I always recommend every tank to have an ATO. Its really going to help, even without corals.

Welcome to the salty side! You'll want to get the ammonia up to 4-5 ppm. Also I recommend you switch the order of the gramma and firefish b/c firefish are very docile and easily scared by even peaceful fish just swimming nearby. Sixline wrasses are known to be pesky...nipping at fish and eating inverts so just warning you. Everything is looking good so far.

Thanks guys

I was thinking about an ATO, I'll probably get one eventually, but for now, I'm gonna hold off on it.

Hmm, maybe a sixline isn't such a good idea. Would it be better if he was added when he's small?

George9 said:
Thanks guys

I was thinking about an ATO, I'll probably get one eventually, but for now, I'm gonna hold off on it.

Hmm, maybe a sixline isn't such a good idea. Would it be better if he was added when he's small?

Following buddy!