Hi, I'm new to Salt Water and would love your two cents...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SquanGirl

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone! I'm so happy to find your site and I welcome any and all advice you have for me. As of today I do not own a tank or fish. I do however own a "guide to mini reef" book and I am reading it and taking notes. I thought it would be a good time to get on the world-wide-web and seak out the advice of all you experts.

Here is what I am thinking:
  • Never owned a tank, so start small like 34g
  • I recently visited a store that has this "Red Sea Aquarium, 34g" that has everything already built in. They coin it as "Plug and Play" I think this is the way to go? (your advice is welcomed here)
  • I have read enough to know this is a slow process and I am willing to invest the time needed to build up my live sand, rock/corals and then eventually fish...

So my whole family is trying to scare me away from going down this road...
  1. What is your advice on 34 gallon plug & play set up?
  2. Do you know about the Red Sea Brand?
  3. Any suggested books to read?

Thanks,
SquanGirl

Firstly, welcome.
Secondly...listen to these guys on here, they know their stuff!!

Read, read, read and research everything before you buy it or take any steps.
Make sure you understand how to cycle your tank.
Plan ahead for your ultimate goal...what would you like in your tank?
If your LFS gives you any advice, say thank you, come home, and check on here before believing it.

What do you get in the plug and play? I got a semi plug and play and ended up replacing a lot of the things that came as part of the package because it wasn't good enough quality.