New to Saltwater - Any ideas?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

missy56

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to the saltwater keeping hobby and I have a few questions. I am lucky enough to have a 20 gallon aquarium and enough time to devote to it, and right now it is just reef, but I am interested in adding some coral...
I know you need special lights, but I am looking for brands. I have powerheads and a hang on the back filter. I have access to Preuss Pets in Michigan and they have the coolest saltwater section. I am looking for ideas to add to my saltwater tank that has been through almost 4 cycles and would appreciate any input :)

Why are you on the 4th cycle of the tank? Once it's cycled and you've done your large PWC you should be able to add livestock.

Btw, the term reef is generally meant to mean you already have corals. The other terms are FO for fish only and FOWLR for fish only with live rock.

What substrate do you have in the tank and how deep is it?

What types of coral do you want to keep? That wil determine how much lighting you need.

I have been keeping close watch on the ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, and pH levels and when the ammonia peaked, I did a 20% water change to bring it back to the "normal" levels. I have done this 4 times.
I have much more than live rock... I bought live rock from Preuss Pets and ended up with some parts of coral, brittlestars, bristle worms, little starfish things, feather dusters, and one clibanarius tricolor. All from the 7 pounds of live rock that I bought. I also bought a damselfish and added her to my tank. I am feeding everything phytoplankton due to the growth on my rocks. I have 20 pounds of live sand as well in my tank.
At first I started to "feed" my empty tank, but then I bought the live rock and one clibanarius tricolor. Once I was sure my levels were stable I got my damselfish.