Newbie requires help please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WelshTom

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there,

I have been keeping fish for a few years now, have always fancied a marine tank but was always put of by the cost and apparent difficulty involved. Over the past few years I have managed to acquire a large selection of equipment from buying various tanks and feel that now would be a good time to have a go at marine, however I have a few questions that I hope someone out there may be able to help me with.

I am planning on setting up a mini reef system in a 2' x 1' x 1' (around 60l) tank that I have spare. I will hopefully have a fair bit of live rock, with just a 2-3 fish (prob clowns). I'm not too concerned about coral at the moment but I may want some in the future. My questions are:

1. What filter should I use, I have at my disposal a Fluval 4, an Interpet IPF2, a Fluval 1 and maybe a Fluval 303 canister. Would any of these be OK?

2. What lighting should I use? I have a 15w Fluorescent starter and a 25-30w Fluorescent starter spare. Should I look at getting some more lighting, perhaps a MH light? Also if I do use the starters I have, what tubes should I get?

3. I have an air powered protein skimmer, is it worth using it in a tank this small?

4. What should I use at the bottom of the tank, sand of crushed corral? What are the advantages/disadvantages of each one?

5. About how much live rock will I need in that tank? Would 5 kg be enough or more like 10?

6. Will I need any additional equipment, I have a spare heater, air pump and other bits and pieces, what else will I need to run this tank successfully?

I will say now thank you for any replies I get and I do really appreciate all of your help.

1. The only filtration you will need is a decent to good protein skimmer. Mechanical filtration is not necessary.