Newbie Stocking Suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

protokix22

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a 55 gallon tank with your standard eheim cannister filter (rated for I believe 75 gallons, they told me to go up a step with the filter) which is close to being done cycling (I believe). After an epic failure where I lost a couple of damsels, I decided to let mother nature do her thing and wait until the levels are down. My nitrites are at 0, my nitrates are around 20, and my ammonia is dropping below .25. I'm not doing anything till that hits 0, I learned the lesson the hard way.

But just thinking ahead and trying to do research, I wanted to see what you guys though of my stocking plan. Like I said I'm a complete newbie here with no experience, so I was looking for fisht that were pretty cool looking, relatively cheaper, but they have to be hardy and easy to keep, nothing to wild or that would require a lot of skill.

So right now, I was thinking of putting in 2 ocellaris (sp?) clown fish that were tank bred. I was also tossing around the idea of putting in a Klein's Butterfly fish. The books I have said they aren't too hard, but I've read online that they can be picky eaters.

Right now my biggest quesitons are how easy are these fish to keep and will adding those three cause too much of an ammonia spike in my new tank. I don't want to have to deal with anymore poisoned fish...

Thanks in advance

Hi. I wouldnt add those 3 fish all at once. The butterfly can be a challenge to feed though, I'm tossing the idea around of getting one as well.

Did you alreay have a nitrite spike? cause if you havent then your not nearly done with cycling. Did you add an ammonia source like a dead shrimp or pure ammonia?