Starting 10g Nano Slowly: Need Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kaiofcanada

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So, I have been wanting to go salt for a long time. I have read article after article, books, and have read tons of threads :). But one can never get enough good advice. I intend on doing a fishless cycle and am prepared for the cycle to take months to complete. I am a graduate student with very little money but alot of patience and really want to do this right. So here goes....

The planned setup for my dream Nanoreef :)

10 gallon
20 gal HOB
heater
1 powerhead (size)
Crushed coral substrate or sand (15lbs) (opinions?)
7 lbs base rock
5 lbs live rock
lighting to come later :)

I have some questions for nanoreef/reef experts.

1) With respect to substrate, what would be the pros and cons of using crushed coral versus sand?
I have decided against live sand as from what I have read and from what I can assert based on the sand sitting on the shelves of my LFS for months on end...it would be mostly dead anyways. I am considering crushed coral as a potential source of calcium, but am unsure if that is necessary in a nano setup.

2) What size and number of powerhead(s) is sufficient for a 10g nano? I plan on using natural filtration in the live rock, and hoped to be able to use the 20g HOB as extra circulation on one end of the tank and one powerhead on the other.

3) Protein skimmer or no?
I don't really have much money and have read several sources that have differing opinions on the need for a protein skimmer for a nano setup. The major arguement against a skimmer is that it can take away nutrients. I really wouldn't be able to afford anything expensive right away, so advice/opinions welcome here...

4) What should go in first for the cycling...baserock+live rock, sand/coral, both,...I have read so many different opinions o_O???