The simplest setup you can think of

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

verucaproduce

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi all.

I am brand new to sw and while I am a long way off from actually setting up a tank, I was wondering...What is the simplest setup you can think of for sw?

I have an empty 20 gallon tank and specifically I would like to know about equipment, substrate, livestock and lighting. I know...the bigger the better...but I am looking at maybe one or two fish to start with.

Also, what are your feelings about using tap water instead of RO water? Is it doable or a disaster waiting to happen?

How many of you have hospital/quarantine tanks set up at all times?

Any other surprises that I might run into while getting into sw?

Thank you all for your time.

My advice: Go bigger from the start. I started out fully intent on doing a 29 gallon fresh tank and was seduced by SW. Now I'm at the point where I'm starting over and wishing I did it right the first time.

Make a sump out of the 20 and get a 55 or larger. You will be severly limited in your choices with a 20. But more important, the margin of error is bigger with the smaller system.

It's an expensive hobby regardless of tank size. You might as well do it right.

Thanks for your answer, but not everyone has room for a 55.

Again, I ask if anyone has suggestions for a simple 20 gallon setup.