want to start a 20 gallon FOWLR

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chris127

Aquarium Advice Activist
hey guys. i'm new to the whole saltwater tank craze but i would love to start one. ive been researching all weekend and figured ive sucked up all the info the net has to offer. i just wanted to get some advice on everything before i tear down my freshie tank (if i even follow through with this idea lol) i have a 20 gallon high that is currently my freshwater tank. could i make this a successful tank for my first experience with saltwater?

if i were to start a saltwater tank this is what i would need, right?

~20lbs of live rock
~25 lbs of aragonite sand
RO water
marine salt
is a regular filter okay?
powerhead
heater
is a 15watt light okay for a FOWLR?

if all this worked out after about a month or two i would add either two clowns or two chromis and some various inverts.

right now im still in my gathering advice stage and everything you have to say would be greatly appreciated!! :D

added up all the expenses. don't think i can afford this LOL :(

Well, you probably can. You will have to wait for about 4-6 weeks for the tank to cycle, so you can buy things over that time. You can substitute LR and LS with base rock and dry sand, just seed the base rock with a small piece of LR.