50 gallon Tall Tank Build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mommachef

Aquarium Advice Activist
I've never done a "build thread" before, so I thought I'd give it a go. I hope I have this in the right spot. :)

I picked up this used tank and stand at my lfs over the weekend. It's a 50 gallon tall square tank.
I'm running a 75 gallon canister filter, a power head, and single bright LED lights. It also has a bubble wall at the bottom, and I will be adding another one in the middle of the tank in a few days. The filter is an off brand, and I was hesitant about using an off brand so they said if I decide I don't like it or if I have any problems with it bring it back and he'll give me the name brand for no cost, no questions asked.

Attachments

• image-3326298895.jpg
    image-3326298895.jpg
    104 KB · Views: 500
Went back to the store yesterday to "just look" at different fish options for it and to talk to them about my choices. Came home with an expensive piece of driftwood and a bag of moss. Lol
So here I go soaking my floaty driftwood. Since I have no fish in the tank, and I don't have anything big enough to soak it in- into the tank it went. I'll let it soak another day or two and then I'll do a water change to clear the water up.
Loosely attached my mosses to the branches of the wood. I'll decide where I really want them when the wood is where I want it to go.

I decided on angelfish for the tank, by the way.

Attachments

• image-2919109859.jpg
    image-2919109859.jpg
    164.3 KB · Views: 118
  • image-3294679590.jpg
    image-3294679590.jpg
    176.1 KB · Views: 101
It's looking pretty good and I think angels would look excellent in that tank

Thanks! I'm hoping to get some Philippine or platinum blue veil tails to brighten the tank up a bit. Something different than the standard black and silver ones.