Already have a bunch of fish - help with cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

prestoconfuoco

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

I am brand new to the hobby and just learning about cycling. I got a bunch of fish earlier today and they were put into a brand new 29G with a few fish purchased about a week ago by some family members.

Inside: 5x black skirt tetra,
2x platy,
4x guppy,
2x peppered cory,
1x bristlenose,
2x african dwarf frog

I tried to do all of my research beforehand and made sure to only buy species that were compatible which I think I succeeded at. however I knew nothing about cycling and am now quite worried.

Thankfully I did put old gravel and decor into the tank with the new gravel and decor. I also have some old filter pads, and I put one into my new filter (just sitting in there) with a small handful of old gravel as well at the recommendation of this article. Some of the gravel and decor had been in a tank for a few months, but was then washed before being put back in about a week ago. The old filter pad is somewhere between a month and a week old, but I'm guessing it's probably more recent.

I have a filter pad that's quite old and crusty from a few months back, but I know this was in a tank with a dead fish for a while (and one that was still alive). (lots of neglect and one of the fish died; when cleaning tank out turned out the other was alive, hence the total cleaning of the 10G.) Not sure if I should put this filter in so I left it out for now.

I kind of took over and today spent a bunch to try to get a bunch of new fish and a big tank/decor because I want to make sure everyone is happy and healthy and I'm the animal lover in the house.