back again :) question about cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cberchiolli

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hey there,

Just got home and tested my water again.. ph tested 7.6 ( louisvilles water is very acidic), ammonia tested 0 ppm and my nitrite tested 1 ppm i think.. kinda hard to tell. its going on week three of the cycle. I have three zebra danios and three bala sharks.. i also have several planted live plants.. i just did a 25 % water change. I have been feeding 2-3 times a day . diet consisting of dried shrimp, frozen bloodworms, and normal flakes. i have been feeding the plant a plantfood weekly as well.. any advice on anything else i should be doing? i have the light on an eight hour timer for now as well. when do you think it will be okay to add two angels? any advice helps.. thank again

im just starting out, but feeding 2-3 times a day seems crazy to me. but i dont know anything about what fish you have so you may be doing it right.

cberchiolli said:
hey there,

Just got home and tested my water again.. ph tested 7.6 ( louisvilles water is very acidic), ammonia tested 0 ppm and my nitrite tested 1 ppm i think.. kinda hard to tell. its going on week three of the cycle. I have three zebra danios and three bala sharks.. i also have several planted live plants.. i just did a 25 % water change. I have been feeding 2-3 times a day . diet consisting of dried shrimp, frozen bloodworms, and normal flakes. i have been feeding the plant a plantfood weekly as well.. any advice on anything else i should be doing? i have the light on an eight hour timer for now as well. when do you think it will be okay to add two angels? any advice helps.. thank again

What are your nitrAtes (no3) reading at? Without no3, I'd say you're not done cycling. Also, feeding 2X a day should be enough.