Canister Filter Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Karamin65

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone, I am looking for some advice, I would like to get a canister filter for my tank, Aqua One Aqua Grande 120, 285lt, 4 foot tank, current filter is over the top trickle. Pictures show the setup. I have Marine pure balls in one tray, the original ceramic noodles in the next and chemi pure blue in the last tray. I was thinking of getting the Aqua One Nautilus2700
IMG_1832.jpg
IMG_1467.jpg
IMG_1830.jpg
IMG_1690.jpg

I have never used a canister filter before, and am not sure how to modify my tank to set it up. I would like to have both filters running, my nitrates are always very high 160+ and doing 50% water changes every few days is a nightmare! I have put in some floating plants, frogbit & Duck weed, hope that will also help once it gets established.

I was thinking of having the spray bar from the canister across the top of the trickle filter, and moving the original spray bar inside the tank and have it running along the back wall spraying over the top of the water, that way I could get rid of the air stones as they wouldn't be needed. What do you think?

Some tank info:-
Tank established on the 28 September 2015.
Took 57 days to fully cycle fishless.
In the tank I have 1 large Albino Rainbow Shark, 5 Australian Rainbows, 5 Albino Cories, 3 Lepard Julies & 3 Red eyed Tetras,(did have 6 but lost a few early on).
Substrate is sand, a mix of Carab sea Torpeado Beach & Tahitian Moon.

This is a typical test that I get on this tank. I usually do 50% water change every Sunday, but I think I will have to add a few more smaller ones during the week to try and get it down to a more manageable level.

IMG_1457.jpg

Any advice suggestions will be most welcome [emoji3]