complete newbie with aquarium and eheim 2215 startup questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

arenaranger

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone,

This is my first post (of many I am sure) and I just registered yesterday. I have a few questions that hopefully some of you won't mind helping me with. I was able to pick up a great deal when I was watching craigslist in myu area. I picked up a 65g aquarium with lights and stand and eheim 2215 canister filter plus a few extras for only 75.00. The stand is not that great but I have a woodshop so am going to build my own anyway.

My questions are more regarding the eheim at this point. I have received many opinions from the LFS abnd through the big als online customer service. The questions I have been asking are regarding what needs to be done with regards to replacing filter sections of the internals of the canister filter. Here are my questions.

1) Should I replace the ehfisubstrat and ehfimech or just rinse or boil it etc. to have it ready to start a new cycle once we set up our tank? I have been told to not replace it, boil it down and dry it, replace all of it a nd replace some of it. I am trying to get this setup cost effectively so don't really want to spend money where I don't have to.

2) What should I do to clean up some of the water scales that are on some of the areas on the back area of the glass around where the heater was and other filter lines etc. I also have some hard water buildup on the black upper frame of the aquarium. I have used vinegar to clean the eheim lines and it has worked out well but am not sure what to do to rinse it out now. Is water just suitable to use after you clean with vinegar to rinse areas of glass or equipment ,parts? How much rinsing is appropriate?