Help with New Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

slakker

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Where does one go to find eqpt. at such prices. I was given a 55 gal tank. I am a lucky newbie and know so little about the different filter systems. would like plants living and read in one plant lovers book he uses under the gravel, and plants do well. Anyway what gives the most bang for the buck

Last edited by a moderator:
I believe that is keepit simple stupid- my god where does one go to find eqpt. at such prices. I was given a 55 gal tank. I am a lucky newbie and know so little about the different filter systems. would like plants living and rread in one plant lovers book he uses under the gravel, and plants do well. Anyway what gives the most bang for the buck
Start a new thread and other will give you lots of info and suggestions

What equipment are you looking for specifically? For filters, people seem to really like Aqua Clear brand. I have a AquaClear 50 on my 30g and it does wonders and is very quiet.

Let us know what you are looking for and we can point you in the right direction.

Need to decide exactly what you want to do and how involved you want the tank to be. You said live plants, but do you want a high-light high tech setup, or a low-light easy setup.

Read through the stickies in the planted section, they'll provide you with a ton of information to help you decide what you want to do, then we can help you tailor your equipment to meet your goals.

Welcome to AA!

I believe the OP's question stemmed from this post:
My wife bought me a 55 gallon tank with stand pluse a HOB filter, heater, 2 powerheads, canopy with ligts, and undergravel filter for 100.00.