High alkalinity and pH

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

iamrood14

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So the alkalinity in my tank is at 300 and the pH is at 8.0. Im new to the aquarium scene amd was was looking for some advice on how to bring these into range

Sent from my SM-N900P using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Your Tank Water

So the alkalinity in my tank is at 300 and the pH is at 8.0. Im new to the aquarium scene amd was was looking for some advice on how to bring these into range

Hello iam...

Aquarium fish are very adaptable to the vast majority of public tap water supplies, so there's no need to worry about it's chemical makeup. pH and hardness readings have very little to do with a healthy tank. Your pH is fine, the other reading is very likely fine too. The fish available at the local pet stores won't care as long as the water is treated to remove the chemicals put into the tap water to make it safe to drink, like chlorine and chloramine and changed often to remove their dissolved wastes.

So, if you're not keeping and breeding rare fish, just treat the tap water and follow a good water change routine.

B

Okay. Thank you!

There is no universal correct range for fish. Your water is quite alkaline.

What type of fish were you planning on keeping?

I have pictus catfish, gouramis and a cleaner fish. Can't remember the name. It starts with pleo

Although I'm still relatively new to the hobby myself, I think a pH of 8 might be a bit high for the catfish and gouramis.

My gut would be to slowly (not all at once) add some bottled water, which tends to be on the acidic/soft side.

Do you know the GH?