I don't understand cycling!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KatieBunky

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi everyone, so as the title suggests, I don't get cycling at all. I've watched loads of YouTube videos, read posts & trawled the internet for information but from what I can see, there aren't many step-by-step guides to cycling a fish tank. All of the step-by-step guides I've seen are quite brief & don't explain much. I feel so stupid that I've been keeping fish for 8 years & I'd never even heard of cycling until I joined this forum:facepalm:

From what I've read/watched there are 3 types of cycling: cycling with fish, fishless cycling, cycling with items from a current tank eg old filter sponges, substrate, decor. I get that when you start a new tank the ammonia levels will rise, then the nitrite levels will rise & the ammonia levels will go down, then the nitrate levels will rise & we keep nitrate levels down by doing water changes.

If someone could please give me a day-by-day explaination of cycling then that would be very helpful.

:thanks:

Fish In Tank Cycling

Hello Kat...

I can do that. Put together a tank of at least 30 gallons with bottom material, 150 watt heater, filter at 120 gph (gallons per hour) and lighted cover and the water. Treat the tap water with Seachem's "Safe" according to the instructions. You have to remove the chlorine and chloramine the public water people put into the tap water to make it safe to drink. Your fish can't live with these toxins in the water.

Add some individual stems of a floating plant like Hornwort. It's a good natural water filter. Plug everything in and let it run for a couple of days. While the tank is running go to the pet store and get a water testing kit that tests for ammonia and nitrite. Study the procedure for testing the tank water.