New 5.5 gallon-what fish to get

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Julie0228

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi! New to this blog and I just set up my 5.5 gallon tank yesterday with water conditioner. I was planning on letting it run for a week before adding fish. Wondering about the cycling process with and without fish. Can I use a beta to cycle the tank? Was going to wait a week before adding anything. I would like to have some variety and not just a beta if possible. I've grown up with betas and also had a 10 gallon in high school. But I would still say I'm a beginner since its been awhile since I've had a tank. I was really hoping to be able to get gourami's. Thanks for the advice!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Hi! New to this blog and I just set up my 5.5 gallon tank yesterday with water conditioner. I was planning on letting it run for a week before adding fish. Wondering about the cycling process with and without fish. Can I use a beta to cycle the tank? Was going to wait a week before adding anything. I would like to have some variety and not just a beta if possible. I've grown up with betas and also had a 10 gallon in high school. But I would still say I'm a beginner since its been awhile since I've had a tank. I was really hoping to be able to get gourami's. Thanks for the advice!

Hi! Here's a good place to get started: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/showthread.php?t=154837

You can definitely use a betta to cycle your tank but as those articles will explain you can expect the cycling process to easily take 5-6 weeks unless you get some seeded material. Fish-in cycles usually entail daily or 2x a day 50% water changes. The first thing you should do is order yourself a API freshwater master test kit (~$20 on Amazon).