Newb setting up a 55 gal help!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SuperNewb

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am totally new to the hobby, but I know I have a general idea of what I want- planted community with ghost shrimp, julii cats, those small placs that max out at 5 inches- also some guppys, platys, and sword tails for breeding (just for fun:D) I want some floating plants that are really stringy and pod for fry (suggestions please.) Also some good plants on the bottom for fry. What are some other cool fish to add? Im thinking I want to add a few cichlids (really small when intro-ed so they don't tear up the guppies)- hopefully they breed. (What is a breed that isn't as aggressive?)
I am thinking I might divide the tank into two- which fishes should I put in each group?
Any more coolio fishes? fun ones to watch? really pretty fish?

Also, I know a lot of fry will be eaten with this combo- I am totally fine with that. My goal is to have a tank where multiple species are constantly having babies, but I don't want to have to worry about extreme over population, so most babies being eaten is ideal- let nature do its thing.

Please help- I need a little confirmation that this won't fail miserably.

ps- I will be doing this over time, I understand the basics of having a tank. Choosing the fish for a diverse community planted tank is what I need.

feel free to tell me of any "got to have" fishes- would be much appreciated

:thanks::thanks::thanks:

Well I'm not 100% on compatibly but I will address what I know! Corys tend to be best in groups, so you will need at least 4-5. By placs did you mean pleco?? I'm assuming a typo, so you'd be looking for a bristle nose. With the pleco you will need driftwood for it and may want to look into what substrate may be best.