Newbie: Help with cloudyness playsand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RobDeanH

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I bought a 29 gallon tank. Cleaned the glass ect... I bought 50lb bag of playsand from lowes. I spent all day yesterday washing it out in buckets. I have it in the tank now and the water is cloudy. It's not horribly like brown but definitely cloudy. What can I do? I'm new to the hobby and thought sand would be good for a nice look and very beginner plants. Also all I have is a hang on filter heater and air pimp with airstone as well as lid with LEDs. Can someone help me out, give me some tips, or let me know what to expect and how long this will take. I don't want my water getting like this when a pleco or something goes crazy in the sand in the future. What should I do?

Edit: This is for a freshwater aquarium. Also I have 3 1/2 inches of sand in there. I'm thinking I should remove a lot of it and have 2 or 2 1/2 inches.

Stir it up and drain all the water out. Refill. The sand was still dirty when you put it in. Sand needs to be washed in small quantities to get really clean.

I wouldn't drain it. Sand will always produce cloudiness on initial fill up no matter how much you clean it. It will usually settle down in 24-46 hours by itself. I'm impatient, so when I fill a tank for the first time I will attach a water bottle with the bottom cut off onto a powerhead and fill the bottle with filter floss. Clears it quickly. Pics below might be 6 hours apart at most.
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1443446912.416551.jpg
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1443446975.492641.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice