Open bottom or Upside down tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

andresdeo

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi, I'm in love with the concept of upside down tanks and I had one made, which is going to be ready today.

I'm fairly new to aquariums so I was wondering how this can affect and if it will affect my ecosystem. Any advice on special maintence? My tank is a 10 g and I expecting to make it 12g with this extra segment.

Lighting is another issue my tank is low/medium intensity, but how should I light the top area of the extra segment? Would a light through the top glass be adquete? I'm planning on making the new hood myself so custumizing it wont be a problem.

Any input will be welcomed.

The My Tank is not working so i'll tell you my tank has been stablished for a year and a half. Introduced live plants about 2 months ago and they are doing very well.

They dont for me. Look up open bottom tanks on youtube. Look at the first 5 or so.

andresdeo said:
No, not at all. That is not what I was talking about.

The link I posted is the same as the others, just better presentation than say the lady wandering around her backyard in the dark lol.

I get physics of it (which he clearing explains) but seems like a lot of work. What happens if your power goes out and the vacuum is lost? Is there a sump to collect the extra water?

Sent from my Epic 4G using Aquarium Advice App

Here are some photos from Google. Not my tank not taking credit. Congrats to tank owners.

Attachments

• image-4104733307.jpg
    image-4104733307.jpg
    27.7 KB · Views: 468
  • image-2624201256.jpg
    image-2624201256.jpg
    54.5 KB · Views: 358
  • image-1200749754.jpg
    image-1200749754.jpg
    60.4 KB · Views: 413
  • image-2438526711.jpg
    image-2438526711.jpg
    55.1 KB · Views: 413
  • image-2742967431.jpg
    image-2742967431.jpg
    66.3 KB · Views: 397