Total newbie!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Teagteag

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
A "friend" recently gave me a 125 gallon set up with Fluval 5 canister filter. I have been reading and researching endlessly, decided on a freshwater tank with artificial plants. I am currently fish in cying. It's going good so far but not getting nitrites to start. I discovered our tap water has 2.0 ppm ammonia. I use prime to treat water and reading with API master test kit the lowest reading I can get is .5 ppm ammonia. I also use stability to help BB cycle start. Have done few 20% water changes. I am guessing the ammonia my test is reading is unharmful ammonia?? Also my ph is steady at 7.6 and temp is great.

Also need some help checking my projected stock list.
Freshwater 125 gallons
Fluval x5
Gravel substrate
Silk plants
Rock and ornaments

6 x Cardinal Tetra
9 x Cory Catfish
4 x Pearl Gourami
3 x Dwarf Gourami -have cycling
6 x Rummy Nose Tetra
3 x Blue Gourami- have cycling
4 x Boeseman's Rainbowfish
4 x German Blue Ram
4 x Hatchet Fish
6 x Zebra danio -have cycling

Thanks for your help!

There is currently only 12 fish in a 125 gallon tank during cycling.

Ammonia reading was the same for 4 days prior to adding fish.

Those 12 fish are not a lot of stock for a 125g. No offense to crazy hermit crab but he/she is wrong.

I am concerned with the blue gourami, these fish are more aggressive than the rest of your stock choices and could be potential problems waiting to happen. I would get 15-20 rummynose tetras if not more. And same with cardinals. I have 25 cards in my 75g.

When you get the pearls try and get 1 male with 3 females. I found with this configuration to have great success and hardly any aggression issues. The rest of your stock seems fine.