What to do about this fluffy slime?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Henkat

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone. Newbie here, 1 week in and I'm pretty sure I've done everything the absolute wrong way. I bought a pretty betta on impulse. Got a tiny tank. Then got a larger tank (fluval spec 5 gallons), watched a bunch of cool aquascape you tubers, built a pretty tank and now chaos and i need help. ???

1.i planted a bunch of plants which about half of them seem to have melted or rotted so I'm trying to pull them out but it's a hot mess

2. My water stinks like rotten lettuce so i'be been doing water changes just about every day or every other day.

3 my betta is getting blown all over the tank because the filtered water is a jet stream. I put a sponge over the tip so it's a gentle glow so Swim Shady (my betta) is happy but now a really disgusting grayish slime is growing all over the place and I don't know what to do.

Anyone know what this is and how i can get rid of it?
Should i just take all the water out and rebuild this without plants?

Attachments

• 13818C8B-DB40-4153-9DCA-0865E7570F2D.jpg
    13818C8B-DB40-4153-9DCA-0865E7570F2D.jpg
    174.1 KB · Views: 20
  • 6E14A764-A98C-48C8-8049-BB905D19D8DF.jpg
    6E14A764-A98C-48C8-8049-BB905D19D8DF.jpg
    107.9 KB · Views: 20
  • AF05FAC4-7E61-4748-A097-A4F48A0F368D.jpg
    AF05FAC4-7E61-4748-A097-A4F48A0F368D.jpg
    216.9 KB · Views: 16