Please look over my Refugium idea, newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

francis

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi everybody, I wanted to try and make a refugium out of my 10 gallon tank and I was hoping somebody with some experience could look it over for any flaws.

I wanted to set up my 10 gallon above my display tank and have the return just be a overflow drilled into the side of the tank because this seemed like the safe way to prevent danger from a power outage as well as allowing me to avoid trying to sync a return and suction pump to each other. The three questions I had, if somebody could please help answer were;

1. How can I drill a hole into the glass? I read that non-tempered glass could be drilled with a diamond drill bit but how can I find out if my glass is tempered or not? Is there another method to accomplish what I am trying to do?

2. What pump would I need for my initial pump that would push the water from my display tank to my refugium? I only know that the refugium flow should be slow, please correct me if I am wrong. I also wanted to point out I do not have any of those (accrylic) divider walls I see in other peoples tanks, is it okay without them?

3. Is my overall layout sound? Or is there a drastic flaw that I have failed to see :T

If anybody could help me with this I would really really appreciate it! I included some pictures to present the idea I have in mind.

The paint sketch is pretty much what I am imagining, while the images are a representation of what I would like it to be. Thank you very much

Attachments

• refugium sketch.jpg
    refugium sketch.jpg
    44.4 KB · Views: 244
  • fuge 003.jpg
    fuge 003.jpg
    48.2 KB · Views: 835
  • refugium idea.jpg
    refugium idea.jpg
    63.6 KB · Views: 244
1 Is their a manufacture mark on the tank to find out that way?