Questions about Ick after taking fish out.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oneshoeboxer

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm very new to aquariums. I got some new tetras. They got Ick after about a week I took them out within 24 hours of noticing it. I went back to the store and they said they got a bad batch of fish. They said most of them had died even after they treated them. The store said to bring them back and I'd get a refund. I have 2 other fish in my tank that don't seem to have Ick. From what I've gathered it is just in the tank now though. If nothing happens after turning the heat up to 80 and waiting 21 days for it to cycle is it gone, or do I still need to medicate the water?

I'd rather not torch the tank, since it is planted, and I still have two fish. I just want to make sure I'm killing off the Ick in the tank. I'm going to start quarantining stuff when I get it. I just want the main tank to be healthy before I start adding fish back in 21 days.

Hello one...

If you keep a very clean tank, the possibility of a healthy fish in pure water conditions, being infected by a parasite or anything else, is very remote. I've kept tanks for many years and never had a problem with infections or parasites. This is because I make sure and remove and replace most of the tank water every week. Harmful parasites and similar things are unable to live and reproduce in pure water conditions.