Brazilian Sword Plants are almost clear

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Relic1882

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello. I'm pretty new to planted tanks altogether. I have a 24" SunGlo tube for lightning. I have a few Brazilian Swords planted in sand that's probably 4" or so in the rear and sloping downward to about 2" in the front. I recently had a problem with all of my fish dying in a very short time. I couldn't prevent it. I still don't know what happened and it happened very fast. Since then, my plants have become very clear looking. They've lost nearly all of their color. I understand that fish waste plays a part in keeping them fertilized. The problem is I'm really new at plants and I don't plan on having more than 2 oscars in the tank when I have it completed again. Can anyone give me fertilizer suggestions in the meantime? I was at the store today and saw a couple fertilizers that said they were supplements of a fert program for aquatic tanks, but I don't know what to buy to get good results. I don't have any special test kits except for the Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate and pH kit. At the moment I'm assuming it's a fert nitrogen deficiency because before my fish problem they were screamin' green and growing like weeds. I actually got 3 extra plants growing off the 1st one within a few weeks. I need help. Thanks a lot :)

First of all, a 29gallon tank is NO place for an oscar, let alone two. Maybe for a couple of months if they are still at 2" long, but after that, you're looking at a 75gallon tank, minimum, for one oscar.

Your problem is a lack of light. Swords do best at 1.5watts per gallon or higher, and you have 20watts over a 29gallon, so not even 1 watt per gallon. Swords also are heavy root feeders, and usually require root fertilization, even in plant substrates like Flourite.