can a planted tank be in natural light?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kimberly

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I currently have a 58 gal tank that is empty. I am interested in doing a planted tank, but the best place I have for my 58 gal is in an area with a lot of windows and natural sun (south and west windows). Would this work or better to not try?

Kimberly

I'm a plant newb myself... but I presume you'd qualify as a "low light" planted tank if you chose to pursue it. Thus, you just need to pick and choose the right plants that don't require upgraded lighting and CO2 injenction.

If you do a word search on this forum for "low light plants", you'll get a wealth of threads with the right plant recommendations. Off the top of my head, you'd want to start off with:

Java Fern
Java Moss
Anachris
Hornwort
Wysteria

Some of the online stores that sell plants (aquariumplants.com) will even group "low lights" so you have a good idea what to buy.

By the way, since it's an "empty" tank, you might want to look into using a good substrate for plants such as fluorite or eco complete... might as well if you're starting from scratch. Fluorite requires A LOT of rinsing, so beware... I would've went with Eco Complete if any of my LFS had it. Of course, this is a budget decision too as you'll need quite a few bags for that 55 gal. I used 3 bags of fluorite for my 29gal.... hours of rinsing.

Are you using all natural light or some artificial lights as well? Unless you have a skylight overhead, or have a lot of really sunny windows, you won't get good plant growth with just natural light, even with the so called low light plants.

Without vigourous plant growth, the excess light then grow algae .... not a good situation.