Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-29-2020, 03:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 146
Fluval

Can I add Fluval to the top of my sand? Aldo, do I vacuum this the same way I do with sand? Do I need to worry about gas pockets with freshwater sand?
__________________

__________________
Fin35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 03:25 PM   #2
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,648
Don't add it period, it's not needed.

It would work over sand but... not ideal, they will mix eventually and it will be a pain.
__________________

__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 05:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 146
It’s not needed? I have a planted tank so I need to give it nutrients, I have snail and most fertilizers have copper which is toxic to them. Maybe I can use root tabs?
__________________
Fin35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 10:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 975
I recommend Thrive S which is designed for for shrimp tanks which also can not have copper
__________________
earhtmother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 06:44 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 146
I bought Fluval which is also shrimp safe
__________________
Fin35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 10:33 AM   #6
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fin35 View Post
I bought Fluval which is also shrimp safe
Stratum?

It doesn't claim anywhere that it supplies plants with nutrients.

All fertilizers sold for planted tanks don't contain enough copper to hurt shrimp if used correctly.

Thrive S is a good option.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 01:11 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
I use fertiliser and my tank is heaving with life from plants and fish just stick to what the bottle tells you and maybe put less in than they say but it should be ok, they wouldn't sell it for your tank otherwise, just be careful, it's not hard to harm a fish
__________________

__________________
Weeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluval, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval CO2 20 System - Replacement Canisters(Non-Fluval) gre General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 07-31-2012 11:06 PM
Is there any differences between the fluval 405 and fluval 406? Banana mouse General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 06-02-2012 12:41 PM
Fluval Pre-filter vs. Fluval Bio Rings Jill Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 03-17-2012 01:12 PM
Is the Fluval surface skimmer compatible with the larger Fluval FX5? Togliat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 12-02-2011 12:52 AM
Fluval ClearMax Insert For Fluval 205 Oscarr19 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 08-11-2011 03:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.